My Review in Tech: A Man On A Mission-Journey of a thousand miles.

My Review in Tech: A Man On A Mission-Journey of a thousand miles.

A good read for beginners and those transitions into tech. Surviving without a mentor.

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Honestly, writing this was really tough; making it public was a greater challenge. As one who loves to keep my personal life personal. However, I decided to make this because I believe you might be in the same season or someone you know.

Just like everyone else, there’s always a moment when you feel that you need more from yourself. A young man named Henry felt the same way.

During the COVID pandemic lockdown, I started looking for things to do aside from just academics. I took some courses on artificial intelligence, and I was amazed by how AI could be manipulated to achieve a task. This drive continues, not knowing how to even go about it.

I wasn’t privileged to be in an environment that appreciated technology and technology-related stuff. Hence, nobody could direct me. School began again, and I focused on studying until 2022.

I was captivated by a conference organized by a tech campus community. “Demystifying blockchain technology,“ and just like everyone else, I decided to go for the program. Now, I’m already in my final year. I told my colleagues that I wouldn’t be coming for my project lab work; if our culture and media want to die, let that die.

I said that with sarcasm, but I meant it. I was just fully eager to go and hear what this blockchain is about and how I could pitch in.

After the conference, which was an eye-opener, I didn’t only get inspired, but I also noticed the majority of the students were already in tech. Combining studies and technology I really felt bad.

I got back from the conference and told my roommate that I’m going to start learning tech. I was very determined to start this journey. No matter what it takes.

Before then, I was learning graphics but wasn’t really enjoying it. Remember, I was searching to know what to learn and what would captivate my interest.

I searched on Google for how to become a blockchain developer. Why blockchain? Yeah, because I was inspired by those already in the space. (Remember, the conference was demystifying blockchain technology.)

So, I discovered that to be successful at blockchain development, I need to understand JavaScript. I got added to my campus tech community: BlockchainUNN, the conveyor of the conference. From there, I was enrolled in Web 2 sessions of Web3Bridge in June 2022. This was how the journey started.

I started learning front-end development. However, there were many challenges I faced. I was transitioning into tech for the first time without anyone to direct me on what to learn.

There was no one to monitor my progress or tell me if I was doing this correctly or not. I was really overwhelmed by the space.

But what did I do? How did I survive? What kept me going?

You will find out in my next post. Stay put ✌️